The Walker-Morris-Peveler House, also known as "The Honeymoon Cottage" was built in 1895 in its…read moreexisting location. The house remains one of the most charming examples of Granbury's cherished Victorian homes. Although Dr. W.S. Walker only lived in the house for a short time, the charm of the structure has been maintained by its inhabitants for the last 114 years. The home was built by a renowned local contractor, E.J. Holderness, who owned a local planing mill. The house, described as a Folk Victorian with ornate Eastlake details, still retains
most of its original detail. The historic, architectural and cultural significance of the house is evidenced by the fact that the house is in its original location and has been largely maintained in its original state. The fact that the house was constructed by a skilled local craftsman demonstrates the uniqueness of the house's design. The "Honeymoon Cottage" is evidence of the prosperity and growth the citizens of Granbury and Hood County benefited from.
Dr. Walker was one of the youngest doctors in Granbury and Hood County. The fact that he was a specialized eye, ear, nose and throat doctor was unique for the time period and the area. By all accounts, he was a very popular doctor who genuinely cared for his patients. In fact, the doctor opened an office in the front room of the house and regularly saw patients there. His daughter, Earle Marie Walker Morrow described her father in the Hood County Genealogical Society Newsletter in November of 1993,
"Dr. Walker gave of himself totally, often staying all night at the bedside of a
seriously ill patient, missing meals and exposing himself to all kinds of weather.
This was just part of being a country doctor. He never refused to help anyone
regardless of circumstances or color."
Dr. Walker travelled to New York City in 1897 to acquire more specialized ENT training and returned to Granbury with an X-ray machine - Hood County's first X-ray machine. This is especially remarkable since the X-ray machine was first introduced to the United States in 1896.
The Walker family sold the home to Burr W. and Julia Morris in 1897. The Morrises lived in the home until 1904. B.W. Morris was a prominent citizen who was born in Texas in 1845. During the Civil War he served three years in the Confederate Army after enlisting at the age of 15. He moved to the Granbury area in 1872 and is considered one of the area's early settlers. He was an influential businessman who, at one time, owned two businesses on the square. Morris served in many different capacities in this community including 12 years as Hood
County Tax Assessor, 14 years as a Hood County Sheriff and one term representing his district in the Texas State Legislature. The Peveler family purchased the house in 1912. Lewis Alford Peveler was a recognized business owner whose family settled Hood County in the early 1850s. Peveler owned and
operated both the Elite Café and the Bon Ton Restaurant which were located on the square.
The house remained in the Peveler family until 1968. The Walker-Morris-Peveler House exhibits features consistent with the Queen Anne Victorian form of architecture. The house was built as a cross-gabled structure with a towered roof on the front porch. The elaborate detailing still evident on the house includes most of the original woodwork and windows as well as several original stained-glass windows. The house has seen few alterations since its original construction. A side porch was enclosed and a lean-to kitchen was added on and later removed due to unsafe conditions. Dr. Walker's entrance to his office on the front porch was also removed at some point to close the room in for a bedroom. The interior of the home also maintains much of its original moldings and millwork.
E.J. Holderness was a local contractor who built several other prominent houses in Granbury including the Aston House on East Bridge Street and the Holderness - Aiken House on West Bridge Street. In her 2008 History of Granbury Survey Report, local historian Mary Saltarelli noted, "The planing mill, opened by craftsman and builder E.J. Holderness, employed workers who did planing, joining, turning, and all kinds of cabinetry and woodwork. These local products allowed Granbury merchants to exuberantly express their newfound prosperity through the construction of high-style houses."
Mr. Holderness was a well-known craftsman and is referred to as a "gifted designer and builder" on the state historical marker at the Aston House. Holderness is also credited with the design of a hotel called the Spur Inn in Stamford, Texas. The Walker-Morris-Peveler House is most assuredly a familiar visual feature of the city. Its location next to the historic Presbyterian Church has afforded the house constant visibility. While the house is not the largest or most magnificent of all the historic homes in Granbury, its charm and quaintness continues to draw interest from both young and old.